A commercial ellipse

A commercial ellipsePhotography by Carlos  Dorce

A commercial ellipse
Photography by Carlos Dorce

Can you imagine going shopping and finding a beautiful ellipse? I found it in my first day in Helsinki! I wasn’t looking for it but I was walking through the streets of Helsinki looking for a restaurant where having lunch was cheaper than 10 € (it’s almost impossible!) and… look at Kampii store! It’s a commercial store with a bus station inside so it had to be cheap! I walked into the mall and after a few steps I looked up. Waw… Here is my ellipse! Usually in such malls we find more circles or squares more than other conics. However, it was my first mathematical surprise in Helsinki.

Location: Kampii (map)

Leave a Reply

