A Geometrical Monument

Monument to the Finish people dead in the Second World WarPhotography by Carlos Dorce

Monument to the Finish people dead in the Second World War
Photography by Carlos Dorce

I decided to visit the district of Kallio in Helsinki. Helsinki centre is not too big and I had a lot of time for walking around other interesting neighborhoods of the city. and   Passing through the picturesque market Hakaniementori and going to the the majestic church in the top of the hill , I found this monument nailed to the rock. Apart from being one of those spaces which makes you remember that Helsinki was built on a rocky mountain, I was surprised by the oblique prism located on the top of the monument. I turned around and saw that the prism was a right prism nailed obliquely.

This is one of those examples of a geometric shape in the service of art.

Photography by Carlos Dorce

Photography by Carlos Dorce

Location: map

Leave a comment