The Royal Palace of Madrid

The Royal Palace of Madrid
Source: Wikimedia Commons

The Royal Palace of Madrid isn’t a mathematical place. Today I have visited it but I haven’t found mathematics in the interesting tour through its rooms. The palace was built by Philip V of Spain on the site of a former palace which was partially destroyed by the fire in 1734. The first Spanish king who lived in the palace was Charles III (Philip V’s third son) and Charles IV, Joseph Bonaparte, Ferdinand VII, Elisabeth II, Alfonso XII and Alfonso XIII also lived here.

I must recognize that I couldn’t leave the Royal Palace without getting a picture to write this post and finally I’ve got two “astronomical” details that justify these sentences. The first one is located on the facade of the palace and it’s an explicit reference to the horoscope:

Detail of the facade of the Royal PalacePhotography by Carlos Dorce

Detail of the facade of the Royal Palace
Photography by Carlos Dorce

Detail of the facade of the Royal PalacePhotography by Carlos Dorce

Detail of the facade of the Royal Palace
Photography by Carlos Dorce

The other interesting object is a clock which can be found in the small Porcelain Room next to the room where the king Charles III died in 1788: there is a wonderful clock representing Atlas holding the World:

Photography by Carlos Dorce

Photography by Carlos Dorce

And that’s all! Tomorrow I’m comig back to Barcelona but I’m sure that I’m going to talk about Madrid for some days.

Location: Royal Palace of Madrid (map)

2 responses

  1. I studied mathematics but never travelled, only when in Baltices I wanted to see Struve’s geodetic arcs, but that’s all I think. I had to look at it also frm this point of view as I like it.

    1. carlesdorce | Reply

      Why don’t you help me with the blog? I’m sure that Prague is full of mathematical places as the house of Bolzano or the construction of the Carlo bridge! I want to travel to the Czecz Republic to visit it and to write mathematical posts about it.

Leave a Reply

