This is my new book!

mybook

This 2013 which ends today is the year of the publication of my new book. It’s written in Catalan and the English title is:

History of Mathematics. From Mesopotamia to the Renaissance

I started to write it as the didactic text of the subject “History of Mathematics” which I teach in the Faculty of Mathematics of the University of Barcelona but the editor thought that it was better to publish it for everybody. Now my editor is reading the second part (from the 17th century to the first half of the 19th century) of the History and it will be published before Easter (I hope!). I am very proud of it because it’s the best of all of my books and it’s a work which I really wanted to write it.

Enjoy it (if you know Catalan). If not, maybe it will be a bestseller and then it will be translated to English! (I’m joking).

HAPPY NEW YEAR 2014

5 responses

  1. Naomi Bennett | Reply

    Dear Mr. Dorce,

    I’m interested in the history of math, I wish your book was printed in English. What do you know of Livio Catullo Stecchini (Italian)? After WWII, he moved to the USA and got his PhD from Harvard. He studied the history of ancient measurements. There is very little about him on the web. He wrote a a very good Appendix in the book Secrets of the Great Pyramid by Peter Thompkins. His contention was that the Egyptians were the great geometers. That the Greeks mis-understood many things like the Egyptian Cubit. The Egyptians were obsessed with the sky and astronomy, so all measurements were geo-commensurate. He said “Yet the techniques of land surveying used in Mesopotamia are a key to the understanding of how the ancients mapped the sky” “A second of time in the motion of the vault of heaven corresponds to a definite length on earth.” “Once I was able to link time together with length, volume, and weight, a number of scattered researches suddenly become related to each other…I knew that a missing piece, even a little one, is vital when one deals with measurements”

    Are you interested in this field of study?

    Have you studied in this area? Might you suggest who or what I can explore on the commensurate measurements of the ancient Egyptians?

  2. Naomi Bennett | Reply

    Dr. Dorce,
    There is a web link for Dr. Steccini on the History of Measures.

    http://www.metrum.org/measures/index.htm

  3. carlesdorce | Reply

    Hi Naomi
    I’ve studied history of mathematics and I’ve read about ancient measurements only when I have been interested in some specific tipics which included them. For example, if you read about Rhind Papyrus or Berlin papyrus, some problems are written referred to the Egyptian measures. For example, read Gillings’ “Mathematics in time of Pharaohs” which explains all the Egyptian Mathematics andthere are quotations to the measurements. If you are interested in Mesopotamian measurements, you must probably search this information in Friberg or Neugebauer’s books but I am not sure about this.

    1. Naomi Bennett | Reply

      I have Neugebauer’s books. I was wondering what our opinion of Dr. Livio Steccini’s mathematical measurements meant to you since you are exploring the same topics as he did, especially astronomical measurements. I already gave you his web link. He is dead so I think his son posted his works.

  4. carlesdorce | Reply

    It seems a very interesting web and a very well-worked job. I am sure taht I’m going to explore it in detail very soon.

Leave a Reply

